Bass Boat Talk Forums

Carolina Fishing Tackle

Skeeter Questions

This is a discussion on Skeeter Questions within the Skeeter Boats forums, part of the Bass Boat Manufacturer Forums category; If anyone has questions on Skeeters, feel free to ask. I will help in any way I can. Feel free ...

Default Skeeter Questions

If anyone has questions on Skeeters, feel free to ask. I will help in any way I can. Feel free to call, email, IM, or anything.

Thanks,

Default SX-166 water in bilge

Just bought a 2000 SX-166; Yamaha 90. My first bass boat, and I'm new to live well operation. Skeeter's website doesn't have manuals for the older boats, and I'd like to find some info on how to use the live well on the boat. The 2-position switch on the console is labeled "Livewell" and has "Automatic" (up) and "Manual" (down)--which I assume is for the aerator.

There is a 3-position lever below and behind the accelerator/gear stick that's labeled "recirculate" (left); "empty" (center); and "auto" (right). This lever operates a cable that I think is attached to some kind of valve connected to the livewell pump in the bilge area (between the gas tank and the transom). The lever will not go in the "auto" position---and I suspect the cable assembly has gotten out of whack--alignment, so that it's only able to move to two of the positions--and those probably not what the label says they are.

Just bought the boat the day before, and was checking it over again at home the next day and noticed 2 or 3 inches of water in the bilge. I drained some of this in the driveway and the rest on the ramp before launching the boat for a half-hour orientation run. (Was entirely my fault, but I didn't get to test the boat on the water prior to buying---but did do a 'flusher/'rabbit ears' test and engine seemed fine.)