Bass Boat Talk Forums

Shoals Sporting Goods
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bass trackers any good?

This is a discussion on Bass trackers any good? within the General Bass Boat and Trailer Discussions forums, part of the Bass Boat and Outboard Motor Forums category; I'm a Newb. Is this a decent deal? 1991 Tracker aluminum boat 25 Hp Very clean solid 1. Are Bass ...

Question Bass trackers any good?

I'm a Newb.
    Is this a decent deal?
    1991 Tracker aluminum boat 25 Hp Very clean solid

1. Are Bass Trackers OK?

2. Is aluminum OK?

3. This is a 16 foot I believe, is that too small?

I prefer the 175 team at 17 feet.
    Also prefer Yamaha over Merc.
    I'm just starting to do some research.
    I'll keep searching threads reading up etc.
    This just seems like a good starter boat?

Thanks.
    for any tips

Richard

Is this going to be your primary boat?

If so what kinda water are we talking about? Major rivers/resevoirs or smaller (under 5k acres) lakes and rivers/streams?

The 16 Tournament XT will be "marginal/acceptable" with a 25hp. I think you'd be happier with a 40hp on that size rig if you're wanting to fish tournaments and/or tournaments on big lakes. The 175 XT I'd want at least a minimum of 50hp with preferably a 60-75hp were it my primary boat. The 25s were value leaders sold strictly for price. You'll be doing good to break 25mph with a fully loaded 16 with only a 25 pushing it.

I'm currently looking for an aluminum rig myself and obviously Bass Trackers are available 10-1 over anything else because they have been the best sellers for the last 3 decades. (It was Johnny Morris who pioneered the package deals on a national level and it began with the BTs back in the late 70s.) But I'm buying this strictly as a secondary/small water rig to carry my boys in. The 16 is what I'm most interested in and if I get a 16XT I'll refuse any smaller than a 35-40hp.